World_news The Apple Store is down, marking the unofficial start of Apple event day – CNET

World_news

Apple is gearing up for its Sept. 15 event.


Apple Store/Screenshot by Sean Keane/CNET

This story is part ofApple Event, our full coverage of the latest news from Apple headquarters.

It begins… Apple’sonline storewent down on Tuesday, in preparation for the company’sSept. 15 virtual event. TheiPhone 12isn’t expected, but Apple is likely to reveal theApple Watch Series 6andnew iPads. The storetypicallygoes down before a launch event as Apple makes way for its new products.

Apple might also say when it’ll release new versions of its iOS software for theiPhoneandiPad,MacOSsoftware for its desktops and laptops, andWatchOSsoftware for its wearables.

For more like this

Subscribe to the Apple Report newsletter, receive notifications and see related stories on CNET.

The event is scheduled for 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. BST), and Apple will stream the eventon its website. CNET will becovering it live, so check back for all the news and products coming out.

Traditionally, these events take place in a packed Steve Jobs Theater on Apple’s campus in Cupertino, California, but the company is taking the cautious approach due to thecoronavirus pandemic.

We’re likely to see the next iPhone in a separate announcement, since Apple warned investors in aJuly conference callthat this year’s phones would arrive“a few weeks later”than usual. That suggests an October or November launch.

CNET’s Ian Sherr contributed to this report.

Read More